Select Page

The Oresteia – Aeschylus


Sold by: Boekhoer

Condition : Good.
Penguin, 1977, Vintage Paperback – Classic – 335 pp.

The Oresteian trilogy (Agamemnon, Libation Bearers, Eumenides), The only trilogy of tragedy plays to survive from Ancient Greece features established themes of Greek tragedy – the inexorable nature of Fate, the relationship between justice, revenge, and religion.

The most renowned of Aeschylus’ tragedies and one of the foundational texts of Western literature, the Oresteia trilogy is about cycles of deception and brutality within the ruling family of Argos.
William von Humbolt wrote of Aeschylus’ that”among all the products of the Greek stage, none can compare with it in tragic power; no other play shows the same intensity and pureness of belief in the divine and good.

Book Condition:

In stock